Skip to main content


The Risedale School Governing Body

GOVERNORS: Please click here to access the Governors Portal

If you would like to contact any of the Governors please do so via Judith Bromfield, Clerk to the Governing Body. Email: 

Constitution of the Governing Body

The Governing Body comprises of:

  • Six Co-opted Governors: Elected by the Governing Body.
  • Two Parent Governors: Elected by the parents of pupil in the school and have parental responsibility for at least one pupil in the school at the time of election.
  • One Staff Governor: Elected by the teaching and support staff within the school.
  • One County Council Governor: Nominated by the Local Authority (North Yorkshire County Council) as their representative.
  • The Headteacher: Governor by virtue of employment by the school.
  • The total number of governors is eleven: The Chair and Vice-chair of Governors are elected annually at the first Governing Body meeting within the Autumn term. Co-opted, parent and staff governors each serve a 4-year term, as does the County Council Governor, or until termination by the Local Authority.
  • Clerk to the Governors: The Clerk to the Governing Body provides advice to the Governing Body on governance, constitutional and procedural matters. The Clerk also provides effective administrative support to the Governing Body and its committees and ensures the Governing Body is properly constituted.

Current Members, Attendance and Business Interests

Name Photo Category of Governor Date of Appointment / Term of Office Appointed by Additional Responsibilities/ Committee Member Business and Pecuniary Interests Relatives with any staff member Attendance Sept 2021 - July 2022
​Beveridge, Amy ​Beveridge, Amy Parent Governor

Appointed: 11/02/2021

Term: 4 years

Expires: 10/02/2025

Parent Election​ 50%
Cotgrave, Samantha Cotgrave, Samantha Co-opted

Appointed: 28/11/2019

Term: 4 years

Expires: 27/11/2023

The Governing Body School Improvement Committee


No 0%
​Glahome, John ​Glahome, John Co-opted

Appointed: 02/02/2021

Term: 4 years

Expires: 01/02/2025

​Chair of the Governing Body School Improvement Committee


No 100%
Holmes, Mike Holmes, Mike Co-opted

Appointed: 03/12/2020

Term: 4 years

Expires: 02/12/2024

Vice Chair of the Governing Body​ No 100%
Les, Carl Les, Carl ​Local Authority

Appointed: 04/05/2021

Term: 4 years

Expires: 03/05/2025

​Local Authority School Improvement Committee

Leader of NYCC

Elected Member of Hambleton District Council

LEA Governor for Michael Syddall Primary School

No 50%
McCann, Terry​ McCann, Terry​ Co-opted

Appointed: 05/02/2019

Term: 4 years

Expires: 04/02/2023

The Governing Body


No 0%
​Morley, Gary ​Morley, Gary ​Staff Governor

Appointed: 24/03/2021

Term: 4 years

Expires: 23/03/2025

Staff​ No 100%
Scott, Colin (Headteacher at Risedale) Scott, Colin  (Headteacher at Risedale) Staff

Appointed: 31/03/2017

Default as Headteacher


No 100%
Lt. Col. Turner, Jim (Catterick Garrison Commander) Lt. Col. Turner, Jim  (Catterick Garrison Commander) ​Co-opted

Appointed: 10/12/2019

Term: 4 years

Expires: 09/12/2023

The Governing Body


No 100%
Vinsen, Lara Vinsen, Lara Co-opted

Appointed: 16/10/2018

Term: 4 years

Expires: 15/10/2022

The Governing Body

Assistant Headteacher, Wavell Junior School

No 50%